VeganMoFo Day 4 – Whole Grain Flax Pancakes

So. . . Apparently, when I added the photos to this shortly after making the food, my dumb mobile app went and published it as a post, rather than saving it as a draft as I clearly requested.  So to anyone that actually follows me and saw this as a bunch of pictures with no text or title, I do apologize.

Anyway. . . I’ve been on a bit of a pancake kick lately. We can largely blame the fact my fridge if somewhat empty, and this is the only breakfast I can really make with what I have in the pantry. Over the weekend, I was dog-sitting again, and I made lots of pancakes more in the restaurant style – fatty, with white flour, etc. They were what I could pull together with my parents’ pantry. Don’t get me wrong; I enjoyed them. I even concocted them myself! Next time I decide to make them as a treat, I’ll take care with measurements and post the recipe.

Today, I found myself with lots of time to make breakfast, but with a desire to at least eat something filling, with its fair share of protein and fiber.

So I present to you my first recipe!

Whole Grain Flax Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup “milk” (I used Almond Breeze almond/coconut)
  • splash of vinegar (optional)
  • 2 flax eggs (for each “egg” whisk 1 tbsp ground flax seed with 3 tbsp warm water and let rest for at least three minutes)
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Prepare the “eggs” – I simply scooped the flax and water into a coffee mug and whisked with a fork, then set aside.
  2. (Optional) “Curdle” the milk – this works best with soy (or even hemp!), but I found some results with my milk blend, as well. Simply add the milk to a large mixing bowl and add a splash of vinegar. Blend and let rest while you gather your other ingredients (or take pictures like a wannabe photographer). This is an optional step, but it creates more of a “buttermilk” feel to your pancakes.
    image
  3. Add “eggs” and oil, then stir.
    image
  4. Fold in the dry ingredients, being careful not to over-mix – lumps are good, mmkay.
    image
  5. Grease a pan with oil for richer pancakes, or spray for lighter pancakes. Heat on medium heat until hot enough to sizzle one drop of batter.
  6. Scoop batter with a measuring cup to ensure even circles (1/2 cup for larger pancakes, 1/3 cup for medium, 1/4 for “silver dollar” style, etc. – I went with 1/3 cup.) Cook until bubbles form, about three minutes.
    image
  7. Flip! Now, I feel somewhat ashamed to be posting a pancake recipe when I can’t master the art of the perfect Denny’s pancake, but in my experience, it’s between you, your stove, and your pan. I only managed to get those perfect pancakes when working with like-new electric stoves, and my personal stove is an ancient gas-powered number from the seventies, yielding what you see below. So if it’s blotchy looking, don’t stress. As long as it’s cooked evenly inside, you’re fine.
    image
  8. Flatten with your spatula to ensure even cooking and let reverse side cook until browned, about three additional minutes.
  9. Remove from heat and serve with choice of toppings! I used Smart Balance light with pure maple syrup.

image

Five vegan foods you cannot live without.

  1. Sourdough bread. Be still my beating heart. It’s always been my favorite bread, and the fact it’s almost always vegan makes it even better!
  2. Boca chick’n patties. I know this is pure junk and a vegan shouldn’t be dependent on fake meats, but man do I love these! They’re perfect for those lazy days where I want something quick before bed. I top them on some sourdough bread with some veggies, Vegenaise, and buffalo sauce and just go to town.
  3. Qdoba’s tortilla soup. . .  I’m addicted to their “Mexican Gumbo” which I order as tortilla soup + black beans + white rice + green salsa + guacamole + tortilla strips. Delicious!
  4. Avocados. Great with all of the above and so much more.
  5. Chocolate!! All things chocolate!
5 thoughts on “VeganMoFo Day 4 – Whole Grain Flax Pancakes

  1. Pingback: VeganMoFo Day 26 – Eclectic Noms | Reno Vegan

  2. Pingback: VeganMoFo Day 30 – This is The End! | Reno Vegan

Leave a Reply

