VeganMoFo Day 3!

I was actually creative in the kitchen today, but guess what? I forgot to take photos! It’s a habit I still need to get into, I suppose.

The breakfast was steel cut oats, chocolate covered banana style. I cooked together 1/2 cup oats with 1 cup vanilla almond milk, threw in 1/8 cup cocoa powder, 1 mashed banana, 1 tbsp flax ground flax, and a pinch of salt, and added agave to taste near the end. It was pretty good! Once I master it, I’ll take a full photo tutorial with a real recipe.

It’s unfortunate I didn’t record this, since it was my only creative endeavor so far, and will surely be the only one  today (unless I get a sudden burst of energy when I get home around midnight). For lunch, I ate leftovers, and they’re somewhat relevant to the question of the day:

Homemade chicken “fried” seitan with what I can only describe as “pilaf:” brown rice and red quinoa blend with canned corn and green beans, seasoned with black pepper and a bit of season salt.

The seitan was quite good when fresh – again, once I master it, I can’t wait to share!

This is what it looked like when it was fresh and pretty:

image

And here it is reheated in a mug, drowning in ketchup.

image

Now for the prompt!

A food / ingredient you didn’t used to like but now you do, how did the transition happen?

I grew up an insanely picky eater who hated just about everything that wasn’t pepperoni pizza or bean and cheese burritos (hold the onions and sauce). Whenever I would eat out at restaurants, I would order chicken strips and fries, which I would douse in ketchup. If asked what I wanted to eat as a general question, I would answer “chicken tenders,” as in Burger King’s exclusive branding (before they went and McNuggeted them). It was so bad that when I was twelve, my grandparents made a deal with me that I could only eat chicken strips once during an entire trip, knowing full well I would order them every day otherwise.

My vegetarian phase in high school is largely responsible for me branching out in my tastes (and for forgoing chicken strips as my favorite meal), but I’m going to specifically address broccoli.

Broccoli was one of my most dreaded foods in my ultra-processed life. When I imagined broccoli, I imagined a sad greyish mush that looked like a tree, with less flavor even than my first tofu meal. It wasn’t until months of forced exposure at my first job (bussing at a Chinese restaurant) that I came to like broccoli, and other vegetables that aren’t baby carrots. Now broccoli is my favorite veggie!

Leave a Reply

