VeganMoFo . . . “Day 7??”

So. . . A word of frustration, if you’d please. This post was written out in full and was supposed to post on Saturday. I’m officially not using the mobile app unless it’s for uploading photos, ever. Everything I wrote is GONE! Can I get an “ugh?”

If you will, imagine this was posted on Saturday, which with the theme, was Retro Saturday. I’ve been loosely following the theme, and I thought, “what’s more retro than a diner burger with fries?”

Well, not much, and I suppose posting your Saturday post on Monday night is, in a sense, retro as well.

Anywho, I went to Red Robin over the weekend. As far as meat-heavy establishments go, where your only vegan option is a veggie burger. . . Red Robin is my favorite of them. There’s no fall-apart veggie burger with an off taste (as with Denny’s), and you don’t get a tiny sampling of fries with tinier servings of sauce (hi, Denny’s). The vegan patty is tasty, if not colorful in appearance. And you get bottomless fries. Sometimes I want to forgo the burger and just order a plate of fries. They’re just that good.

This particular night, I started off with a raspberry freckled lime-aid with shared chips and guacamole (unpictured). . .

image

And followed it up with the Boca burger, in my usual style: ketchup, mustard, lettuce, tomato, pickle, and avocado on whole grain bun.

image

With hot, crispy steak fries. They re-did their menu, apparently, and now offer more sauces than the usual suspects (barbecue, ranch, honey mustard, or ketchup). A thai chili sauce caught my eye, but I went with the sweet and spicy ketchup. It was delicious enough that I didn’t miss the ranch, and I felt satisfied without a refill!

image

So. . . The mobile app’s hatred for making sense has left me with the following decision: I don’t care about the theme anymore! It was a guideline before a theme, anyway. For goodness sake, I’m not even on the blog roll. My goal with VeganMoFo 2013 was to get back to where I was in June: trying to build up my blog. So that’s what I’ll do for now.

The themes did give me a fun way to meal plan and grocery shop, however, and I’m happy for it! On actual retro Saturday, I had a black bean burger with Pickle Pasta Salad. Tonight, I’m going to be making some bomb Mac and Peas.
(Basically, I fit all the Vegan Stoner recipes I could into the themes, because I’m lazy as shit on weeknights. Do you want to be cooking up a storm when you get home at midnight? No? Okay.)

I’m going out of town this weekend, and hopefully I’ll have some yummy places to review. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

