Vegan MoFo Day 17 – Insta-Vaca Wrap-Up

I’ve been somewhat MIA because I’ve been out of town since Friday, and as I have mentioned here previously, I do not get along with WordPress for Android.  It’s a handy tool for lazily uploading pictures so I can edit the post on a computer, but I can’t seem to do anything beyond that without messing something up. So that’s where I’ve been lately. I didn’t neglect the blog out of laziness, as I had in the past!

And instead of editing down a draft or writing any full posts I took pictures for this weekend. . . I’m going to be somewhat lazy (but mostly busy), and summarize my trip in Instagrams.

On our way out of town, we all stopped at Steak ‘n Shake. As you can imagine. . . I was limited in my options. The waitress offered to veganize their grilled veggie sandwich, but I’m a picky person who hates mushrooms, so I ordered a Dr. Pepper. Not to worry, we weren’t far from a Qdoba, so I grabbed myself a Naked Burrito as we hit the road.

image

Somewhere between Susanville (CA) and Redding (CA), we stopped at a “Vista Point” to let the dogs out. This is the “vista.” I’d imagine it was quite beautiful pre-fire. . . Now there’s something of a tragic beauty.

image

And here is one of many photos I took of Sparky, the most lovable little mutt known to man. We let the doggies ride with us for part of the ride and it was just lovely.

image

In Weaverville (CA), we stopped at the grocery store and I grabbed myself a green tea frap from Starbucks. They were already offering Pumpkin Spice, but it was warm and for some reason pumpkin + spice = milk. Unpictured, but I drank this with my biggest snack vice: spicy sweet chili Dorritos.

image

We grabbed dinner when we got into Arcata (CA). I had pulled up Happy Cow and found two veg-friendly restaurants with one vegetarian, but both veg-friendly restaurants were closing as we got in. My dad was pulling up the same info, however, and suggested we went to the vegetarian restaurant. Yeah, I tortured the family with “not real” food.

I picked up a couple pastries for the following morning, including this non-breakfast-friendly raspberry and chocolate cookie (which I believe was made of spelt flour). It was delicious and VERY Earth Balance-y (which I love).

image

For my meal, I ordered their vegan mac and cheese with jalapeno cornbread and greens. I obviously did not use the Smart Balance or butter in the bowl (sorry for leaving it in), but it was all pretty good! My only complaint was that the macaroni was extremely overcooked. Like, so mushy that the spoon immediately breaks it on contact and you’re left with your last few bites being macaroni crumbles. Gross. The cornbread was good and the sauce was tasty (although watery pasta did little to enhance flavor), but overall I wish I had tried the Creole Seitan or something else more adventurous.

image

Little Annie seemed to enjoy the condo we stayed at in Trinidad. (And my lap.)

image

I had my chocolate chip espresso scone with breakfast the next morning. Probably one of the better scones that I’ve ever had! Here it is 90% eaten. . . I forgot to capture it, it was so delicious.

image

This picture is kind of random, but we were a few blocks from a beach, and I snapped this while we took the dogs for a walk. That back belongs to my brother.

image

I also bought some delicious local pumpkin butter. . . Which was great with Soy Free Earth Balance on a Los Bagels bagel.

image

And the neighborhood grocery near our condo sold all kinds of vegan treats, including ice cream! When my dad pointed it out, I was quick to rush to the freezer. I went expecting a lone tub of vanilla So Delicious like a typical Reno/Sparks SaveMart, but was shocked to instead see Purely Decadent, So Delicious coconut, Almond Dream, and Coconut Bliss – all with several flavors! The normally cheaper brands were marked up quite high, so I went for the Coconut Bliss, which was only at its normal high price. If I’m paying nearly $8 for a pint of ice cream, I might as well be getting the one I can’t justify buying while at home!

Deliciousness, as always.

image

On the subject of ice cream, a yogurt shop in Arcata had a tasty sorbet which I was happy to attack with toppings.

image

And we spent plenty of time on “Endor.”

image

And of course, at the BEACH!

image

Afore-mentioned local grocery store also had a stack of cookies at the register, and I picked one up thinking, “There’s no way these can be vegan.” LO AND BEHOLD, they were even labeled as such!  I nommed on a Snickerdoodle while on Endor in the redwood forest.

image

Aaand because I have so far been mainly showing you the sweets, and not the more common savory dishes. . .Here is what I ate for our last meal on the coast. The eatery next to our condo seemed to be anti-vegan at first glance, but I saw small text that you can substitute tofu for any meat free of charge. I fudged it and ordered a “California Benedict” which was basically an eggs Benedict with grilled tomato and avocado. I subbed tofu for the egg and omitted the sauce. It was pretty good, although I’d have to say there was far too much plain tofu for my taste! It still tasted great with a soy strawberry mocha.

image

And in the Chipotle in Redding (my hometown!), I finally got my hands on Sofritas. Not being the biggest fan of tofu, I had pretty low expectations – but this was DELICIOUS! For the first time, I wished we had Chipotle here instead of Qdoba. Given my fierce love of Qdoba, this is saying a lot!

image

Overall, it was a nice trip! It was for a pretty sad purpose, but once the sadness was out of the way, I had a really enjoyable time with my family. . . And their humans, too! 😉

One thought on “Vegan MoFo Day 17 – Insta-Vaca Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Vegan Mofo Day 3 – I Need Some Real Posts, Dude | Reno Vegan

Leave a Reply

