Vegan Mofo Day 6 – I’m Drowning

Ugh. Guess who got called into work Thursday? Me. Who stayed an hour late Friday? Me. Who’s staying 3-4 hours late today? Me. Who’s trying to run a food blog for once but HAS NO TIME?! MEMEMEMEMEMEMEMEME.

I never intended for this blog to be like a third-rate Laziest Vegans, but that’s apparently where we’re at. 

I bought these awesome ciabatta hot dug buns on clearance and have been using them to make garlic bread. Garlic bread is something I never really had the urge to make vegan and I’m not sure why. It’s so. . . easy. Like, you take your normal garlic bread stuff and basically.  . replace butter with Earth Balance and replace the parmesan with nooch. I didn’t have any parsley on hand, but it was still amazing!

image

Mmm.

image

I also have been stress-eating these “Soy Creamy” ice cream sammies from Trader Joe‘s. It’s hard to beat ice cream at this price and the only flaw is that they’re not Neapolitan. Double yum.  

In this shot and all following, please ignore the messiness of the apartment. Have I mentioned how busy I am? image

Also from Trader Joe’s: crescent rolls. I usually just buy Pilsbury’s or store-brand, but I forgot until I was at Trader Joe’s. D’oh! I used some leftover Tofurkey dogs and made crescent dogs. Yum. Lazy and yum.image

Classy “bite out of it” shot. It’s like the cross-cut but lazier and less hygienic. 

image

One perk to coming in on my day off is that my boss decided to give me a $5 Starbucks gift card as a “thank you.” I used it to buy my yearly green tea frap and it was, of course, delicious. Oddly enough, it’s no longer listed on the menu. But if you ask, they’ll still make it. 

Please ignore the non-vegan frapp in the background. It’s a figment of your imagination. (I’m one of those vegan “traitors” and have an omnivorous partner. Sorry if that offends you.) The purse, however, is a $15 “all man-made materials” bag. No leather to be found! 

image

And finally from Trader Joe’s: hummus cups. Basically the cheaper version of what I’ve been supplying demand for at 7-11. It’s also a bit more authentic in that it’s served with pita chips, not pretzel crisps. Delicious. Great served with re-constituted peach tea. Or lemonade. Or lemonade slurpees. . . Except they stopped those this week. Sad-face. 

This post has been incredibly disjointed. Thanks for sticking around and waiting out a proper post! Someday soon, I hope. Someday soon. I have some big projects in the works (but I won’t discuss those until they’re finalized). Until next time!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Mofo Day 6 – I’m Drowning

  1. So glad to hear that there’s another soul with so much to write about, but so little time! I’m already falling behind with my Vegan MoFo and it’s not even the end of the first week! Absolutely loved this post – your honesty chimes through it & I can’t most definitely relate! Really looking forward to see what else you’ve got in store. And LOVING your sass: “(I’m one of those vegan “traitors” and have an omnivorous partner”. YES. 🙂

Leave a Reply

