Vegan Mofo Day 8 – Breaking from Food

wpid-IMG_20130913_160454.jpg

My parents’ beloved dog Sparky passed away yesterday. He was only five years old. 

It was a huge shock for everyone. He was feeling lethargic for a few days, but my parents thought it was from the other dog Annie being re-homed. They thought he missed her, and didn’t feel too worried. By the time his condition worsened, it was too late to save him. 

They went into the vet at six and I got the call at ten that he had passed. 

I was allowed to go home early because I was such a mess. He was just the sweetest little dog and so freaking young. Visiting my mom that evening was really hard – the house felt so empty

I know this is the vegan month of food, but it’s hard for me to think about food. 
To keep this somewhat relevant, I’ll add that I’ve been stress-eating. Apple pie for breakfast, hummus pack and Slurpee for lunch, and Gardein sliders with tater tots for dinner. I ran into my mom at the store on my break. I felt embarrassed, buying such crummy food. Crummy and expensive food. But I just can’t see the point in trying. Not quite yet.

I should have an actual weekend this week, which is the most amazing thing I’ve ever heard. I will cook! It will be glorious! I will blog about good food!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Mofo Day 8 – Breaking from Food

Leave a Reply

