Vegan MoFo Day 9 – Laziest Apple Pie

The other night, I was at my mom’s for sad reasons. She already had a get-together planned and didn’t want to back out of it. A distracted mind is a content mind! She decided to make a pie out of a bunch of apples that were starting to go soft. When she asked me to get the pre-made crusts out of the freezer, I noticed that they were shortening-based and. . . . “accidentally vegan!” I got excited and my mom decided to make her crumble topping with Nucoa*, not butter. Yay for me!

wpid-20140907_155949.jpg

Look at that accidentally-vegan goodness.

wpid-20140907_155748.jpg

I’m not one to buy pre-made pie crusts, but when it’s already being made and I am asked to chip in, I sure as hell won’t say no. Another benefit of using a pre-made crust is that baking, which is usually a precise science, becomes a more “wing it” type activity like traditional cooking. In pie, the crust is the only thing that’s really finicky. With that out of the way, the rest comes easy!

My mom cut the apples up and tossed them in some brown sugar, cinnamon, corn starch, and the juice of one lemon.

wpid-20140907_155850.jpg

She made a crumble-topping out of rolled oats, brown sugar, and margarine.

wpid-20140907_171521.jpg

We then baked that shiz per the package instructions and it was pretty darn tasty! I didn’t even miss the “mode” from a la mode, which I used to consider necessary for apple pie. I wouldn’t enter it to a fair or anything, but it’s not a bad way to use up excess apples in one hour. 

*I can’t, for the life of me, find any evidence of Nucoa’s new formula. When Smart Balance bought them out, it became the poor man’s Earth Balance. Similar process but less authentic buttery taste for half the price. I use this stuff all the time but I can’t! Find! Proof! Online! That! It’s! Okay! Looks like I already have a new post idea. . . 

One thought on “Vegan MoFo Day 9 – Laziest Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

