Vegan MoFo Day 13 – Breakfast Food Has Many Uses

One thing you should all know about me: I am addicted to a few sitcoms. When I get addicted to sitcoms, I quote things at stupid times. My latest obsession has been Parks and Rec, and don’t think for one minute that it’s been off the hook, quote-wise.

Favorites:

  • “Give me all of the ________ you have. I’m afraid you heard, ‘give me a lot of _____.’ What I said was, ‘give me all of the _____ you have.” Item changed by situation. Sometimes I even say the real “bacon and eggs,” though I obviously eat neither.
  • “Oh, you beautiful tropical fish.”
  • “LITERALLY. . . ” not more than usual or anything, but I use Chris’ tone every damn time. Do you remember this year’s shark week commercial? “So. . . sharky. . .”? LITERALLY the weirdest commercial I’ve ever seen. Except for all the product placement in Wayne’s World I’M SORRY I’M SORRY!!!
  • The Pit
  • And best of all. . . “Hey baby, if you’re going in the kitchen, can you make me pancakes real quick?”

Like, I’m not kidding. Every time my boyfriend goes to the kitchen or is even remotely near it, I will find an opportunity. Yesterday, he obliged.

!!!!!!

Not mine!!

Yes, I have the best boyfriend in the world. I was feeling crampy and icky, and he made me feel 102101230x better with pancakes!

wpid-20140912_114043.jpg

The recipe was none other than the famous Puffy Pillow Pancakes. These are seriously the best pancakes I’ve ever had – vegan or no. And they’re very easy to make! I’ve made them so many times that I actually summarized the Isa Does It version onto my print-out home “cookbook.” You know, so I can wipe the page covers clean and not ruin my gorgeous book any more than necessary. That’s how much I use it.

I thought of being creative with fruit, peanut butter, or even chocolate. But before I could make any suggestions, they were delivered to me the old-fashioned way: with “butter” and flavored corn syrup. Yum.

To be fair, I wasn’t entirely lazy. The day before, I spent my day off doing this:

wpid-20140911_142730.jpg wpid-20140911_210843.jpg

When our stuff used to look like THIS:

wpid-20140911_113613.jpgwpid-20140911_113644.jpg

And I actually spared you quite a bit of gory details. I left out any and all detail shots that could have traumatized. It wasn’t just that everything was messy, it was out and out dirty. See the bathtub ring? Imagine that but everywhere. And not all dead skin and soap particles, but also dust and food and god-knows-what-else. I set out to clean the whole house and this took most of the day! Yuck.

I’ve only blogged 8/13 days so far. That’s not the best – but I have drafts now! YAY, productivity!

Leave a Reply

