Vegan MoFo Day 15 – Cast Iron Skillet en Flambé

I had my first kitchen fire!

Am I proud of this? Hardly. Am I amused by it? Oh, yes.

It started out innocently enough. I was making the Curried Peanut Sauce Bowl from Isa Does It and trying my best to multitask. The cast iron pan was heating to a high heat, the sauce was done and kept on a low heat to keep warm. The rice was all but done and I tossed my greens in to steam a little. Oh, did I mention that the pan had been “preheating” since the other ingredients started?

Yeah, that was stupid of me. As soon as I added oil, the whole pan caught on fire. It was, to say the least, startling. And unlike my “clever” little title, it wasn’t a legitimate reason for fire. Alcohol catching fire? Cooking! Oil catching fire? Disaster! But apparently screaming “OH MY GOD!” attracts attention, even if there is Sunday night football. So nothing got damaged in the end. . . Not even the pan, since it was cast-iron and not Teflon! Not even my face or hair, even though I have horrible posture and the flame shot at least a foot in the air!

Also, I think I’m finally getting in the swing of things, blogging-wise. After everything calmed down and the pan was running under cool water to cool off, my first thought was, “Damn, I wish I caught a picture!” But I guess an in-tact kitchen is more important than an exciting blog. I guess.

wpid-20140914_193735.jpg

After the pan was brought to a safe high heat, I fried up my tofu cubes and got to work on the bowl. Don’t those cubes look perfect?

wpid-20140914_193728.jpg wpid-20140914_193721.jpg

Best tofu I ever made. And that sauce, oh my god! So tasty! I didn’t shop for this dish, but rather flipped to the recipe when deciding what to do with some tofu that was getting close to turning. I had most everything on hand, all but the kale and the ginger. Kale I changed out for spinach – easy. Ginger was tricky. . .I didn’t have it fresh/frozen, and I didn’t even have the powder that you use for pies and stuff! What I did have was pumpkin pie spice. It worked better than you might think! The sauce was amazingly flavorful and won over meat-eaters. Yay, Isa Does It!

Leave a Reply

